COJO of Flatbush Holds 40th Annual Legislative Breakfast in Bklyn

James O’Neil receiving an award

The 40th Annual Community Legislative Breakfast of the Council of Jewish Organizations (COJO) of Flatbush took place amid throngs of elected officials and community leaders on Sunday morning, March 3rd at the Kol Yaakov Hall in Brooklyn.

By: JV Staff

The chairperson of this year’s breakfast committee was Larry Spiewak and the vice chairs were Ari Baum, David Heskiel and Rubin Margules.

Welcoming the attendees at this year’s breakfast was Louis Welz, the CEO of COJO Flatbush. An introduction of the organization was given by Moshe Zakheim, CPA and President of COJO Flatbush.

The Master of Ceremonies was Yaacov Brisman, Esq of the Brisman Law Firm, PC.

This year’s honorees included Congressman Peter T. King who represents New York’s 2nd congressional district. Rep King received the Distinguished Statesmanship Award. The auspicious award was presented to Rep King by Eric S. Goldstein, the Chief Executive Officer of the ULA-Federation of New York.

The Lena Cymbrowitz Distinguished Legislator Award was presented to the Honorable Andrew Gounardes who represents the 22nd district as a New York State Senator. His award was presented to him by the US Senate minority leader, Chuck Schumer.

The Distinguished Freshman Leadership Award was presented to newly elected New York State Assemblyman Simcha Eichenstein, who represents the 48th assembly district in Boro Park. Presenting the award to Mr. Eichenstein was the Honorable Eric Gonzalez, the Kings County District Attorney.

The Councilmember of Distinction Award was given to the honorable Justin Brannan, a New York City Councilmember who represents the 43rd district. The award was presented to Mr. Brannan by the Honorable Chaim M Deutsch, a member of the NYC council, who represents the 48th district.

The Distinguished Public Service Award went to the Honorable James P. O’Neil, the New York City Police Commissioner. The award was presented to him by the Honorable Letitia A. James, the New York Attorney General. Ms. James has previously held the position of New York City Public Advocate before winning the election for Attorney General.  

The Woman of Valor Award (Aishes Chayil) was bestowed upon Zahava Szasz Stessel, PhD, a Holocaust survivor and author. Her award was presented by the Honorable Rafael L. Espinal, Jr, a NYC Councilmember from the 37th district.

The Distinguished Medical Rofeh Awarf was presented to Scott Lorin, MD, MBA, the President and Chief Operating Officer of Mount Sinai Hospital in Brooklyn. His award was presented by both Mathieu Eugene, a NYC Councilmember of the 40th district and Alan N. Maisel a NYC Councilmember of the 46th district.

The Distinguished Chesed Award was bestowed upon Mr. Leon Goldenberg, the Chief Executive Officer of Goldmont Realty and the first vice president of COJO Flatbush. His award was presented by New York City Comptroller Scott M. Stringer.

The Keser Shem Tov Award was presented to Dov Bauman, the president of Glatt Mart. His award was presented to him by the Honorable Max N. Rose, Congressman for the 11th district in Staten Island and Brooklyn.

David Dweck on the left and James O’Neil on the right

Volunteer of the Year Award went to Mrs. Esther Raphael, a devoted COJO Volunteer at the Pikus Senior Enrichment Programs. Her award was presented to her by the Honorable Yvette D. Clarke, a congresswoman representing the 9th district.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here