The Passover Food Guide – Part 1

This list is compiled after extensive research and correspondence with food industry experts and experts in the field of Kashrut

The Jersey Shore Orthodox Rabbinate takes pride in once again presenting to our Sephardic Community a comprehensive guide to Passover products. In order to supply the community with up to date information, this is also available on the website: www.jsor.org. We have added some popular food categories for this year, including some commonly used health foods.

This list is compiled after extensive research and correspondence with food industry experts and experts in the field of Kashrut. Since Sephardic Jews have different customs and traditional foods than our Ashkenaz brothers, this list is designed to serve those whose custom includes the consumption of Kitniyot, or legumes on the holiday. Since the majority of Jews in America are of Ashkenazic descent, the major Kashrut organizations have only certified those items that are permissible for them.

In the last several years, the Star K (Star-S), OU and the OK have begun to certify some foods that are for those who eat Kitniyot

In the last several years, the Star K (Star-S), OU and the OK have begun to certify some foods that are for those who eat Kitniyot. We have included those items, and as well have listed those foods that are permissible without special Kosher for Passover (KFP) symbols. This year we have expanded the listing with some gluten free and Paleo friendly ingredients, as these items have become increasingly popular. Please note however, that gluten free is NOT necessarily Kosher for Passover! Oats are gluten free, but they are pure HAMES! Use only items listed. (Also note that the Beracha on those items, although they may be in the form of typical Mezonot foods, the correct blessing is SHEHAKOL.)

Whenever possible, buy those products that bear a reliable Passover label to be assured that the product has been prepared for the holiday. All products whether or not they need special supervision should only be used if the package is new and unopened.

NON FOOD PRODUCTS: All Aluminum Foil, Foil tins, Foam, paper and Plastic dishes and cups are acceptable. Cling wrap and wax paper are also fine.

Parchment paper: 365, Bagcraft, Bakomatic, Master Baker, Reynolds, Norpac and Kirkland are acceptable without a P.

BABY PRODUCTS:

Baby Cereal: Due to information from the Rabbi at the O.U. in charge of Pesach production, Beech Nut Pure rice cereal should not be used. There is Materna brand from Israel that has supervision, but it is not widely available. Alternatively, may we suggest one of the following:

1) Cook whole checked rice thoroughly and then puree in the blender with formula.

2) Preparing the cereal from ground checked rice.

3) Soak Passover breakfast cereal or crumbled lady fingers in milk or formula and then mash or blend.

4) Try a variety of baby\ hot cereals that are made from finely ground Matza meal or potato starch. (see cereals)

Baby Formula: 365, Alsoy; Enfamil; Enfacare; Isomil; Prosobee; Similac LeMehadrin and regular; Nestle Good Start and Next Step- are all acceptable. Additionally, the following store brands are good: Kirkland Signature, CVS, Target, Walgreens and Wegmans brands.

Pediatric Electrolytes: Pedialyte (all flavors), CVS, Shoprite and Walgreens brands.

Baby Foods:

This year we have expanded the listing with some gluten free and Paleo friendly ingredients, as these items have become increasingly popular. Please note however, that gluten free is NOT necessarily Kosher for Passover! Oats are gluten free, but they are pure HAMES! Use only items listed. (Also note that the Beracha on those items, although they may be in the form of typical Mezonot foods, the correct blessing is SHEHAKOL.)

Must have Kosher for Passover supervision.

Gerber: Carrots, Green Beans, Peas and Squash are acceptable. Plain OU only.

First Choice CRC/P: applesauce, carrots and sweet Potato

Shneiders Shlock Squeezable Fruit- Star K/P

NOTE: Beech Nut is no longer certified for Kosher for Passover.

Ideally, it is best to (gasp!) prepare baby food at home using a blender or food processor.

Baking Powder: Gefen, Haddar, are KFP. Baking Powder that DOES NOT list Oat flour in the ingredients, is ok for use.

Baking Soda: (Bicarbonate of Soda) No Passover Supervision necessary. (New box)

Candy and Chocolates: Passover Supervision is necessary for all chocolate candies; likewise, hard sucking candies need supervision because they are often coated with flour.

Beware! Some candies coming out of Israel may contain ‘gelatine’ or ‘gelatin’ which may be derived from animal sources! Do not use any candy, even from Israel, without verifying the supervision.

Cereals and Breakfast Foods: All cereals made from the five grains are of course, Hames. In addition, many cold cereals such as corn flakes and rice krispies are Hames since malt is added to them. We strongly suggest that even those cereals in which the listed ingredients are 100% kosher for Passover, should not be used as they are in constant contact with grains that are real Hames.

You will find many types in the Supermarket Kosher for Passover aisle. They MUST be marked. Most are made from finely ground Matza flour, but some are made from Tapioca and are ‘Shehakol’…There are many brands that offer these breakfast foods: Crispy O’s, Gefen, Manischewitz.

Cider Vinegar: Requires supervision, the nutrient may be Hames.

Cocoa: Any 100% pure powder that is made in the USA. Exception: Hershey’s Special Dark. (not good)

Cacao Beans or Nibs are acceptable without a P

Coconut Products:

Coconut Milk: Coconut Dream Original OU –no P, Trader Joe Original (canned)

Coconut Oil: Cold Pressed, Virgin, un-refined coconut oil – any. i.e.. Spectrum Organic, Coconut Secret (no P)

Coconut Shredded needs Passover supervision if sweetened or flavored. Plain unsweetened /unflavored is acceptable.

Coconut Secret Brand: Star-K (No/P)The following varieties are acceptable: Aminos, Crystals, Flour, Nectar, and Vinegar.

Coconut Chips and Flour: The following brands are acceptable: Aunt Patty’s, Cocozia and Epicurex

COFFEE:

Instant- In former years, most instant coffees were acceptable if they were unflavored, this is no longer the case. As a flavor enhancer, malto dextrirn, which may be derived from barley is added. This year, the only brands not requiring a P are:

Tasters Choice brand of regular, unflavored coffee

Folgers: Regular and Decaf instant.

Ground, Regular unflavored only:

No chicory or Decaf: The following brands may be used for Pesach (new can) even without special supervision: Chock Full O’Nuts, Duncan Donuts (bagged only), Folgers, Hills Bros., Lavazza, Melitta, Shoprite, Trader Joe’s & Wegmans.

Maxwell House Ground and Instant (with OKP only) Elite Turkish Coffee (O.U.-P.)

K-cups for Keurig Machines: are recommended when bearing the OU Reg (not decaf) Unflavored only!

Note: The machine may be used after thoroughly cleaning all parts and running 2x without a k-cup, hold cup up to spout and discard hot water.

Nespresso: Nespresso CClassic NC, Professional NP, Vertuo.

Decaffeinated: Acceptable without a P: Brooklyn Coffee House, Ellis, Parker House and White House brands.

All Other Decaffeinated coffee must be marked for Passover. Sanka (with OK-P), Maxwell House Decaf varieties (with OK-P); Gevalia,

Flavored coffees are not acceptable for Passover use.

Coffee substitutes: Postum, Roma or Teeccino contain grain and may not be used for Pesach. Any leftovers of these brands must be sold with the Hames.

Coffee Creamer: must be marked for Passover: Gefen, Kineret, Mishpacha, Ungers. KP

Cooking Spray: Pompeian Avocado Oil or Grapeseed Oil. Star-K (no P required) All others Must be marked! BEWARE! This is a frequent mistake. Gefen, Mothers, Seasons and Mishpacha, require an OU-P Haddar, bears a KAJ-P.

DAIRY PRODUCTS:

Milk: It is preferable to purchase kosher milk with Passover supervision for Pesach, but one may buy regular milk for the holiday, if purchased before Pesach. In addition to the Halav Yisrael brands, many supermarket brand milks are marked Kosher for Passover and are able to be purchased throughout the holiday. Only marked milk should be purchased during the holiday, since the dairy company adds vitamins to the milk and also may process chocolate milk that contains malt (Hames) on the same equipment.

Please note! OU-P designation does not mean that the product is Halav Yisrael.

             (To Be Continued)

Edited by: JV Staff

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE

ABCs of Elul

The last month of the Jewish calendar is actually the most important – serving as preparation for the High Holidays If you had an important court date scheduled – one that would determine your financial future, or even your very...

INTERNATIONAL NEWS