The Jersey Shore Orthodox Rabbinate takes pride in once again presenting to our Sephardic Community a comprehensive guide to Passover products. In order to supply the community with up to date information, this is also available on the website: www.jsor.org. We have added some popular food categories for this year, including some commonly used health foods.
This list is compiled after extensive research and correspondence with food industry experts and experts in the field of Kashrut. Since Sephardic Jews have different customs and traditional foods than our Ashkenaz brothers, this list is designed to serve those whose custom includes the consumption of Kitniyot, or legumes on the holiday. Since the majority of Jews in America are of Ashkenazic descent, the major Kashrut organizations have only certified those items that are permissible for them. In the last several years, the Star K (Star-S), OU and the OK have begun to certify some foods that are for those who eat Kitniyot. We have included those items, and as well have listed those foods that are permissible without special Kosher for Passover (KFP) symbols. This year we have expanded the listing with some gluten free and Paleo friendly ingredients, as these items have become increasingly popular. Please note however, that gluten free is NOT necessarily Kosher for Passover! Oats are gluten free, but they are pure HAMES! Use only items listed. (Also note that the Beracha on those items, although they may be in the form of typical Mezonot foods, the correct blessing is SHEHAKOL.)
What is Hames?- Any foods or food products, which contain ingredients, derived from one of the following fermented cereal grains: wheat, barley, oats, spelt or rye are forbidden on Passover. Even foods that contain minute amounts of Hames, or foods which are processed on utensils which are used for other hames-containing foods, are not permissible for Passover use. Many Sepharadim have the custom of eating different legumes or kitniyot and foods that are derived from them. Even in the Syrian community, there are differences in customs as to which legumes are used. Some refrain from eating Hummus and Tehina, due to the similarity of the words to Hames and Techin (flour). Others do not eat corn. Each person should follow family custom or ask their Rabbi for guidance.
What is prohibited? Consumption, Ownership, and Benefit from Hames. Simply said: You can’t eat it, You can’t own it and you can’t profit from or utilize it on the holiday. We must be careful what we eat and we must sell any remaining Hames (actual food or that which is on our utensils that we are locking up) to the Rabbi by Thursday March 29th. The Rabbis then sell the Hames
to a Gentile early Friday morning. Do not forget to sell your Hames!
Read Product labels Carefully! – Make sure a reliable Kosher for Passover certification appears on the package. Take this guide with you to the store! Remember that ‘reading the labels’ is impossible on Pesach – too many chemicals may have Hames ingredients. Alcohol, Ascorbic Acid, Citric Acid, Dextrose, Glucose, Maltodextrin, PolySorbates, Sodium Citrate, Sodium, Erythrobate, Xantham Gum & Sorbitol (outside U.S.) are among the list of common ingredients that can be derived from both grain and legume sources.
Beware of Look Alikes – Often Kosher for Passover and non-Kosher for Passover products have identical packaging.
Do not purchase a product just because it was good last year. – Discard old lists – they will confuse you because some things change year to year.
DO NOT buy any product simply since it is in the “Passover Aisle”! Some stores do not remove the Hames Matzot, spices and coating crumbs and other “year round kosher” foods from the shelf before restocking for the holiday.
Know your personal and family Kashrut level! not all Kashrut certifications are created equal. Check with the people who will partake of your meals and see what they prefer- ask your family custom pertaining to corn, rice, beans. Even within the community there are different family customs to take into account. This advance planning will save heartache and promote Shalom.
Look before you cook! – Even with the best intentions, a non-Kosher for Passover item could be purchased
This Sephardic Passover List is applicable for 2018 only Page 2
inadvertently. Mix ups happen! An extra glance on every item before cooking can save hours of trouble and possibly having to use the food for non-Passover meals!
Do not assume – Ask! If you have a doubt about koshering or about a product being Kosher for Passover, clarify the question with your Rabbi. Questions about products may be emailed to [email protected] OR texted to our text line at 732-995-4422.
Texts will be returned, G-d willing, daily. If you do not get a text back by the next day, please text us back the following day, it has happened that we missed the text or didn’t have the information on hand.
Please note: the last inquiries we will answer will be on Wednesday, March 28th @ 5:00 P.M.
In addition to our yearly guide, is a list of commonly used medications and toiletries that are considered Hames-free! Most Rabbis agree that pill form, prescription medication (not chewable or liquid) is acceptable to take. Regarding prescription medications, do not stop taking any medication without first clearing it with your doctor! When in doubt- ask!
May the merit of our care in observing the commandments of the holiday bring us all closer to Avinu She’ ba Shamayim, our Loving Father in Heaven and may we merit to rejoice in His redemption! Amen.
Rabbi Isaac Farhi
The Passover Food Guide
Whenever possible, buy those products that bear a reliable Passover label to be assured that the product has been prepared for the holiday. All products whether or not they need special supervision should only be used if the package is new and unopened.
NON FOOD PRODUCTS: All Aluminum Foil, Foil tins, Foam, paper and Plastic dishes and cups are acceptable. Cling wrap and wax paper are also fine.
Parchment paper: 365, Bagcraft, Bakomatic, Master Baker, Reynolds, Norpac and Kirkland are acceptable without a P.
Baby Cereal: Due to information from the Rabbi at the O.U. in charge of Pesach production, Beech Nut Pure rice cereal should not be used. There is Materna brand from Israel that has supervision, but it is not widely available. Alternatively, may we suggest one of the following:
1) Cook whole checked rice thoroughly and then puree in the blender with formula.
2) Preparing the cereal from ground checked rice.
3) Soak Passover breakfast cereal or crumbled lady fingers in milk or formula and then mash or blend.
4) Try a variety of baby\ hot cereals that are made from finely ground Matza meal or potato starch. (see cereals)
Baby Formula: 365, Alsoy; Enfamil; Enfacare; Isomil; Prosobee; Similac LeMehadrin and regular; Nestle Good Start and Next Step- are all acceptable. Additionally, the following store brands are good: Kirkland Signature, CVS, Target, Walgreens and Wegmans brands.
Pediatric Electrolytes: Pedialyte (all flavors), CVS, Shoprite and Walgreens brands.
Must have Kosher for Passover supervision.
Gerber: Carrots, Green Beans, Peas and Squash are acceptable. Plain OU only.
First Choice CRC/P: applesauce, carrots and sweet Potato
Shneiders Shlock Squeezable Fruit- Star K/P
NOTE: Beech Nut is no longer certified for Kosher for Passover.
Ideally, it is best to (gasp!) prepare baby food at home using a blender or food processor.
Baking Powder: Gefen, Haddar, are KFP. Baking Powder that DOES NOT list Oat flour in the ingredients, is ok for use.
Baking Soda: (Bicarbonate of Soda) No Passover Supervision necessary. (New box)
Candy and Chocolates: Passover Supervision is necessary for all chocolate candies; likewise, hard sucking candies need supervision because they are often coated with flour. All must bear special supervision for Pesach.
Beware! Some candies coming out of Israel may contain ‘gelatine’ or ‘gelatin’ which may be derived from animal sources! Do not use any candy, even from Israel, without verifying the supervision.
Cereals and Breakfast Foods: All cereals made from the five grains are of course, Hames. In addition, many cold cereals such as corn flakes and rice krispies are Hames since malt is added to them. We strongly suggest that even those cereals in which the listed ingredients are 100% kosher for Passover, should not be used as they are in constant contact with grains that are real Hames.
You will find many types in the Supermarket Kosher for Passover aisle. They MUST be marked. Most are made from finely ground Matza flour, but some are made from Tapioca and are ‘Shehakol’…There are many brands that offer these breakfast foods: Crispy O’s, Gefen, Manischewitz.
Cider Vinegar: Requires supervision, the nutrient may be Hames.
Cocoa: Any 100% pure powder that is made in the USA. Exception: Hershey’s Special Dark. (not good)
Cacao Beans or Nibs are acceptable without a P
Coconut Milk: Coconut Dream Original OU –no P, Trader Joe Original (canned)
Coconut Oil: Cold Pressed, Virgin, un-refined coconut oil – any. i.e.. Spectrum Organic, Coconut Secret (no P)
Coconut Shredded needs Passover supervision if sweetened or flavored. Plain unsweetened /unflavored is acceptable.
Coconut Secret Brand: Star-K (No/P)The following varieties are acceptable: Aminos, Crystals, Flour, Nectar, and Vinegar.
Coconut Chips and Flour: The following brands are acceptable: Aunt Patty’s, Cocozia and Epicurex
Instant- In former years, most instant coffees were acceptable if they were unflavored, this is no longer the case. As a flavor enhancer, malto dextrirn, which may be derived from barley is added. This year, the only brands not requiring a P are:
Tasters Choice brand of regular, unflavored coffee
Folgers: Regular and Decaf instant.
Ground, Regular unflavored only:
No chicory or Decaf: The following brands may be used for Pesach (new can) even without special supervision: Chock Full O’Nuts, Duncan Donuts (bagged only), Folgers, Hills Bros., Lavazza, Melitta, Shoprite, Trader Joe’s & Wegmans.
Maxwell House Ground and Instant (with OKP only) Elite Turkish Coffee (O.U.-P.)
K-cups for Keurig Machines: are recommended when bearing the OU Reg (not decaf) Unflavored only!
Note: The machine may be used after thoroughly cleaning all parts and running 2x without a k-cup, hold cup up to spout and discard hot water.
Nespresso: Nespresso Classic NC, Professional NP, Vertuo.
Decaffeinated: Acceptable without a P: Brooklyn Coffee House, Ellis, Parker House and White House brands.
All Other Decaffeinated coffee must be marked for Passover. Sanka (with OK-P), Maxwell House Decaf varieties (with OK-P); Gevalia,
Flavored coffees are not acceptable for Passover use.
Coffee substitutes: Postum, Roma or Teeccino contain grain and may not be used for Pesach. Any leftovers of these brands must be sold with the Hames.
Coffee Creamer: must be marked for Passover: Gefen, Kineret, Mishpacha, Ungers. KP
Cooking Spray: Pompeian Avocado Oil or Grapeseed Oil. Star-K (no P required) All others Must be marked! BEWARE! This is a frequent mistake. Gefen, Mothers, Seasons and Mishpacha, require an OU-P Haddar, bears a KAJ-P.
Milk: It is preferable to purchase kosher milk with Passover supervision for Pesach, but one may buy regular milk for the holiday, if purchased before Pesach. In addition to the Halav Yisrael brands, many supermarket brand milks are marked Kosher for Passover and are able to be purchased throughout the holiday. Only marked milk should be purchased during the holiday, since the dairy company adds vitamins to the milk and also may process chocolate milk that contains malt (Hames) on the same equipment.
Please note! OU-P designation does not mean that the product is Halav Yisrael.
Lactaid drops and caplets are not kosher for Pesach. Lactaid milk may be used only when purchased before the Holiday. Ask your Rabbi for additional information.
Chocolate Milk: Requires Passover supervision as the flavoring may contain Hames.
Powdered Milk: Ko-Sure Star-K-P; Parmalat Kof KP. Haddar, Dairymen OUP Alba, Carnation OU
Hot Cocoa mix: Haddar, Kojel KP (must be marked)
Butter\Cheeses\Creams\Yogurts: All require special Passover supervision as the cultures, flavorings and coloring may contain Hames.
Butter: with the Kosher for Passover mark are Breakstone’s, Pathmark, Penn Maid and Shoprite.
Halav Yisrael: Devash, J&J, Kahal, Mehadrin, Morning Select and Pride of the Farm
Cream Cheese must be marked KFP. J&J, Temptee, Foodtown, Pathmark, Shoprite, just to name a few.
Yogurt must have supervision. Many varieties are readily available. Dannon made this year for Pesach OU-P BEWARE: there are many varieties with a plain K, that are not kosher (they contain beef gelatin that is not from a kosher source!) LOOK CAREFULLY!
Non Dairy Creamers: OU-P: Kineret, Mishpacha; Star –K P: Unger’s
MILK SUBSTITUTES: some brands or varieties of the milk alternatives are not recommended for Passover use, as they have questionable ingredients. However, many varieties are available this year. Visit www.crcweb.org for an extensive list. Purchase before Passover: – These brands and only these varieties. All others may actually contain hames!
Almond milk: ALL ORIGINAL not flavored:365, Everyday Value, Almond Breeze Original (Reg. & unsweetened), Natures Place, Shoprite, Silk, So Delicious unweetened and Winn Dixie (NO P needed)
Liebers (Reg & Vanilla OUP)
Coconut Milk: Coconut Dream Original, Lite and Unsweetened. OU (No P)
Soymilks-Original variety only! 365 Everyday Value, Best Choice, Fit & Active, Harvest Farms, Hy-Vee, Natures Place, Nature’s Promise Organic Original, Shoprite Soy Milk unflavored, Silk, Stop and Shop, Winn-Dixie Organic Original, Soy Dream.
Ricemilk: Original plain variety only! Full Circle, Hy-Vee, Nature’s Place, Market Basket Enriched, Nature’s Place, Price Chopper Enriched, Rice Dream Enriched, Wild Harvest Enriched.
DETERGENTS AND CLEANSERS: All varieties of detergents both liquid and powdered do not require Kosher for Passover certification. For those who are interested: According to the OU directory, the following dish detergents may be used without the OU-P: Ajax, Dawn, Ivory, Joy and Palmolive.
Dishwasher Detergent: Palmolive, Sunlight Powder, Cascade, Finish Powdered Dish Washer detergent.
EGGS: Some have the custom to purchase before the holiday. This is not Halacha, just a custom (Ashkenaz).
Egg substitute: Kinneret OUP; Healthy Morn OUP
All fresh fruits are acceptable.
Precut fruits: marked only Star-KP: Delmonte, Garden Cut, Natures Promise and Wegman’s.
Canned fruits: may use a Hames enzyme to clarify the juice that is used to pack the fruit, therefore use only with Kosher for Passover marking.
Unsweetened frozen fruits: are acceptable with no additives or grape juice. Insect prone varieties such as strawberries must have a year round kosher supervision.
Dried Fruits: Most must be marked Kosher for Pesach unless listed below. Readily available are: Mariani OU-P, and Setton Farms OK-P. Trader Joe (no P) Bing Cherries, Fancy Dried Nectarines and Pears; Aunt Patty, Gocmez, Happy and Sunny Fruit Apricots Star K (no P)
Regular variety: Calavo*, Sunworld* and Sun Glow* brands Pitted and whole.
Available with supervision: Carmel Natural OU-P, Setton Farms: OK-P; Sun World pitted OUP; Yum Tee – OU-P;
Dried, rolled dates present a special problem for Passover since they are rolled in oats!
Note: all dates must be split open and checked for insects, which can be quite common.
A date paste is being imported from Israel that is reliably certified for Passover by OU-P & Chug Chatam Sofer.
Raisins: Berkley & Jenson, Dole, Delmonte, Shoprite and Trader Joe’s are acceptable with just a plain OU.
**May we remind you, Banana chips require kosher supervision for year-round use as they are sometimes fried in the same oil as non-kosher cheese. They are not recommended for Passover use.
FISH: Canned Tuna and Salmon: The hydrolyzed protein in tuna may contain Hames. Kosher for Passover tuna is readily available: Star-KP: BenZ’s, California Delight (Bishul Yisrael for Sepharadim)
With the OU-P: Dagim, Dag Yam, Gefen, Glick’s, Mishpacha, Shoprite and Season.
Frozen Fish Fillets*: BenZ’s, Dagim, Kinneret, Schindler.
Breaded: Dr. Praegers OUP Breaded Fish sticks
Kirkland Frozen Salmon and Wild Salmon with plain OU may be used *
*NOTE: All fresh and frozen fish must be washed well before cooking, as they are often coated with a Hames glaze.
GLUTEN FREE Products: as the gluten free demand has increased, there are many types of cakes, cookies, crackers and even ‘matza look alikes’ that are produced for Passover. The Beracha for these items is Shehakol.
Many have asked about the acceptability of year- round gluten-free products. The answer is NO. Gluten-free means that it is free of the gluten aspect of the grain, however some grains, such as oats, are naturally gluten-free, but they are 100% HAMES.
See the expanded Coconut and ground nut sections.
GRAINS- Kitniyot: Alfalfa, Buckwheat, Chia Seeds, Flax Seed and Hemp Seed: Whole only
May be used after checking for other grains.
GRAPE LEAVES: The Orlando brand are now OK certified, but not all jars are Passover approved!! You must check each jar if it states KOSHER for Passover.
IMPORTANT : NOT ALL JARS ARE OK-P!!
Other brands of grape leaves are preserved in brine, which may contain Hames vinegar or may have citric acid from a Hames origin.
Please note! It is very important that all grape leaves be washed carefully. Inspect each leaf on both sides.
HONEY: Due to late-breaking information from Kashrus Magazine, we are recommending that even pure honey be supervised year-round and for Passover. Many varieties are available. “Pure” honey from Turkey and from China was found to have NO HONEY AT ALL, just glucose, flavoring and added ingredients!
All juices need special Passover certification as the enzymes and clarifying agents may be Hames.
Available with Passover certification are: Ceres, Eden, Gefen, Glick’s, Hadar, Kedem, Kirkland, Mishpacha, Mrs. Adlers, Nature’s Own, Rashi, & Shoprite.
Apple Juice & Apple juice concentrate must be marked.
Lemon Juice: Realemon liquid lemon juice and lime juice are acceptable without a special marking. Other brands require Passover Supervision.
Shoprite and Stop and Shop are OUP
Orange and White Grapefruit: any brand frozen unsweetened, grade A concentrate is acceptable.
All refrigerated containers must have Passover supervision. Some pure juices may be actual Hames, as bran may be used to filter the juice.
Tropicana Orange juice with OKP only.
Prune Juice- Gefen and Sunsweet KFP
LIQUORS in the last few years they have presented a new problem- Alcohol derived from wine is being used in production of liquors and cordials. This is completely separate from the issue of whether the liquors contain non-kosher wine. There are several varieties available that are marked Kosher for Pesach: Bartenura, Ashkelon, Zachlawi, and Carmel Arak are acceptable.
OUP: The following brands produce different types of Vermouth, Vodka and Cordials: Bartenura, Binyamina, Carmel, Kedem, Sabra and Slibovitz. Zachlawi premium Vodka in many flavors that are OUP.
NOTE: Chopin Potato Vodka is not recommended. Zachlawi has a KP Potato Vodka.
MARGARINE: Many margarines use starch in their flavoring making Passover supervision necessary. Mother’s (OU-P)
MARSHMALLOWS: The Pesach market is inundated with marshmallows that are labeled “Kosher for Passover”. Many of these contain gelatin which is made from non-Kosher animal sources. It is vital that all labels are read before purchasing any products containing marshmallow. The OU, Kof K, Star K, and OK do not permit the use of gelatin from non-kosher sources. OUP: many brands have made a special Passover production.
MASSA (Matza): One must be alert that the Matza for year- round use can be Hames, and it is marked “not for Passover use”. Caution: many places may return items from previous years to the shelf, it is imperative to check all matza products, cake mixes and spices for freshness. Old products have been found to contain insects and larvae!! Check carefully for a product code stating year of production. Lacking that information, the products must be inspected thoroughly!
Acceptable only when marked kosher for Passover are: Chicago Shmura; Haddar; Glick’s; Aviv; Carmel; Gefen; Geula; Goodman, Holyland; Horowitz Margaretten, Manischewitz, Osem, Rishon Lezion, Savion, Streits, Yarden, Yehuda & Yonovsky.
For those with wheat allergies, Oat and Spelt matza is also available by special order.
It is recommended to use Matza Shemura for the Seder.
MAYONNAISE, KETCHUP, and MUSTARD:
According to knowledgeable people in the Kashrut world, one should avoid the use of any product containing vinegar even if the company assures that the vinegar used is not of grain origin. We therefore recommend that all mayonnaise, ketchup and mustard, etc., should have proper Passover supervision.
Ketchup: OU-P: Blanchard & Blanchard, Gefen; Manischewitz, Mishpacha, Rokeach; Star K- P: Eden.
Mayonnaise: OU-P: Gefen, Haddar. Manischewitz; Mishpacha, Star K-P; Benz’s, Unger’s
Mustard: (Artificial): Blanchard & Blanchard OUP
Milk: See Dairy
MEATS AND POULTRY: All brands of raw poultry are kosher for Passover year-round. After your butcher “koshers” for Pesach, all raw varieties of meat, cut chicken and veal are acceptable. This year several companies have expanded greatly the selection of deli and prepared products for the holiday.
Empire raw turkey burgers are acceptable only with the OU-P.
NOODLES: Mishubach, Manischewitz and
Miracle Noodle are acceptable with OUP
NUTRITIONAL SUPPLEMENT: Boost (glucose control and High protein), Ensure- Without Fiber only: (Ensure w/Fiber contains Hames!) Ensure plus, Glucerna 1.0; More varieties at www. OUKOSHER.org
NUTS: Raw nuts, without additives are all acceptable for Passover. If the bag states that it is made on the same equipment as wheat, it should not be used. Exception: Kirkland Walnuts and Almonds are acceptable (OU)
Also without P: 21st Century, Great Lakes Pine nuts, Nature’s Original and Pacific Gold brands all good.
Note: Midget Pecans and pecan pieces (even raw) require a reliable KF-P supervision. Due to insect infestation they are washed in grain alcohol.
Almond meal: Blue Diamond, Cal Pure, Barney’s Basic, Orchard and Paramount Farms brands all good without P.
NUTS AND SEEDS (Roasted) NEED PASSOVER SUPERVISION many varieties available
Star S-P: Settons – Bizr, peanuts.
OILS: Since all major Kashrut organizations in the USA are geared to Ashkenazic customs they supervise only non-legume based oils. Available are: OU-P: Gefen, Mishpacha, Nutola, Rokeach.
Grapeseed Oil: Bartenura OUP
Kof-KP: Hain Oils. Pompeian brand: Avocado Oil and Grapeseed Oil Star K (no P necessary)
Sepharadim whose custom it is to use soybeans and corn may use any certified kosher for year-round use brand of pure corn, canola or soybean or vegetable oils such as: Mazola or Wesson.
Some manufacturers (such as Kirkland\Costco) have added ‘citric acid’ to some of their oil. Although this ingredient is usually extracted from corn, it can be made from a Hames source, therefore we do not recommend any oil containing this ingredient as we have no verification of the source of the citric acid.
Extra virgin pure Olive Oil. May be used without P.
New container only for all oils.
PARCHMENT PAPER: Many approved without a P: Great Value, Kirkland, Master Baker, Reynolds, Wilton.
B&E also sells an approved variety.
PASTA & PIZZA! Special Kosher for Passover made either from Matza meal or Potato starch: Dayeinu, and Frankels, Macabee and Manischewitz. OUP
PET FOODS: Fish food often contains meat and milk ingredients and is forbidden for use the entire year. Most pet foods contain Hames. Since we are forbidden to derive any benefit from Hames, we may not feed any pets those varieties that contain hames ingredients. Krill fish food is permitted. Alfalfa, sunflower seeds, split corn or millet are recommended for feeding birds. Bird Jungle had a parrot mixture for Passover but they have closed. The Paterson Bird Store in Totawa, NJ can help you with acceptable Parrot Food. There are brands of cat and dog food that are available that do not have Hames or the prohibited mixture of meat and milk. A detailed list can be found at www.star-k.org. Or at www.crcweb.org
PICKLES: Need Passover supervision. Batampte, Flaum, Gefen, Gilboa – Beit Hashita, Kvuzat Yavne, Manischewitz and Osem, Schorr’s are all OU-P. Unger’s Star K-P
POTATO CHIPS and Snacks: Passover certification necessary, with the OU-P: Bissli, Bloom’s, Glick’s, Lay’s Manischewitz and Meshubach Potato chips.
Also KFP: Lieber’s.
QUINOA: Most brands need to be marked!
Ancient Harvest Brand: 12 oz size only :White, Red. Or Tri-color Star-K (no P necessary) only with Best by dates between 2/1/19-2/28/19 (white also in 27 oz pouch) use only these dates!!
Otherwise, due to reports of Hames mixed in, use the following only marked with KP:
Star KP: Setton Farms
Natural Earth Products (Some bags of Red Quinoa were infested! Check very well!!)
OU-P: Pereg brand; Goldbaums
Sugat Quinoa from Israel.
Quinoa Flour needs to be marked OUP (Pereg available)
RICE: The staple of the Sephardic Passover diet is Rice. It is the #1 question. Which rice is good?
Most supermarket brands of rice are enriched. The enrichment is diluted with starch in order to distribute it evenly on the rice. This can be a corn, rice or a wheat starch base. Unlike for the past 25 years, we no longer have access to the detailed information about the enrichment processing ingredients, and therefore…
We do not recommend enriched rice.
It has been our custom throughout the generations to check all rice three times before Pesach. While in Arkansas, I was
informed that the crops are rotated yearly, and that it is very common to find grain in rice fields. Although there is equipment to remove any non-rice pieces, it is not 100% effective. Please be advised that every year grains are found in the rice, check carefully.
White Rice: Any non-enriched or organic rice is acceptable. The following brands are acceptable:
*Star-S/P has made a special run of certified unenriched Carolina. It is not pre-checked. Please check 3x according to our custom!
*Super Lucky Elephant brand (Star K) available at Walmart or Costco (sold as Kirkland Brand )
*Goya Jasmine and Goya Basmati (London Bais Din)
*Vee-Pee Jasmine (LBD)
*Sugat brand from Israel.
*Carolina and Mahatma brands of Jasmine in 5 and 10 lb size packed for Riviana Rice Co. Not enriched.
*3 Elephant Brand (be careful!! There are different “Elephant brands! Some are enriched)
*Dynasty brand Jasmine (not enriched)
Medium/Short grain: Nishiki, KoKuho Rose and Cal Rose brands are also enrichment free. They can be found at Wegmans and most Oriental stores. Lundberg’s Organic (not mixes)
Basmati: Deer Brand, Himalayim Pride, Goya, Royal, Pari, Regal Harvest, Iberia and Roland brands. No P
Brown rice: Any brand without additives.
Pure wild Rice: acceptable without a marking: This rice looks like short black sticks and is from the grass family, not a legume at all. NOT WILD RICE MIXES
SALT: Regular (Pure) and Coarse salt are permitted for Passover use without special supervision.
Check that dextrose and Polysorbates are not in the ingredients.
Pink Salt: Himalayan and Peruvian varieties acceptable if pure, no additives.
Salt substitute: Freeda Free Salt, No Salt or Spice of Life No Salt\No Sugar must have KP marking.
SELTZERS: Any unflavored seltzer with KP certification is acceptable.
Flavored Seltzers certified OU-P: Foodtown,, Giant, Shoprite brands, Stop and Shop
SODAS: Sodas must have Kosher for Passover certification due to possible Hames in the flavoring base. Many varieties are readily available. 2 liter and cans Coca Cola Classic & Diet Coke, Sprite: must have the OU-P on the cap (yellow cap).
Dr Browns (Kof K P)
Pepsi products must bear a Kof KP on the cap
Florida: Kosher for Pesach bottles marked with ORB P
SOUP MIXES: Beware containers bearing a “P” are often identical to the year-round variety!
SOY FOODS: while actual soybeans are permissible for most Sepharadim, products made of soy, such as soy sauce, TVP and tofu are forbidden. These products are made through extraction methods that use grain alcohol in the processing of the soybeans.
SPECIAL FOR SEPHARADIM: KITNIYOT WITH A PASSOVER MARK! Follow your family custom which legumes to eat! Even in the community there are different customs.
*Canned Goods: California Delight Baby corn and Kernel Corn Star S-P
*Yerek Brand Frozen Vegetables: Green beans, Cut Beans, French Cut Green Beans, Green Peas, Peas & Carrots, cut corn, Mixed Vegetables, Baby Lima Beans.
*Pikante Salads Star S-P: Large variety of prepared salads and dips.
*Chocolate: Ferrero Brand Nutella Spread OU Kitniyot
*Kinder Chocolate (only when made in Italy and bearing OU Kitniyot)
*Kitni Products (owned by Maneshewitz): OU Kitniyot: many products such as:
Chick peas, Corn, Lentil and Rice mix, Rice Cakes, Peanut butter, Papouchado cookies, Bamba
SUGAR: Any pure white granulated cane sugar may be purchased for Passover as long as dextrose or glucose are not listed in the ingredients. These may be derived from barley or wheat! Domino brand –OKP
Raw Sugar: C&H Hawaiian Raw Cane Sugar.
Palm Sugar: Sweet Tree Coconut Palm Sugar (Earth Kosher No P req.) Coconuts Secrets Crystals.
Confectioner’s Sugar does contain 3% corn starch but according to some Sephardic customs, may be permissible for Pesach. Only sugar and cornstarch allowed! According to one Passover publication, they found that C&H brand contains wheat starch. Therefore, we advise you to only use a marked brand, since it is impossible to make sure that there is no mixing of Hames (has v’shalom). Canadian Confectioner Sugar is also not permissible as it contains wheat starch instead of corn starch.
There are several varieties of Confectioners’ sugar without corn starch: OUP: Mishpacha and KAJ-P: Haddar brand.
Vanilla Sugar: may contain grain alcohol and therefore, Passover supervision is required.
Brown sugar: C&H, Dixie, Shoprite, Winn Dixie and Wholesome foods Organic Cane Sugar may be used without a P.
Domino and Brownulated Needs OK-P.
SWEETENERS: OU-P: Gefen, Nutra Taste Gold Zero Paskez Sweetie (Badatz) and Liebers (KFP)
Equal & Splenda: are not recommended for Sephardim by the OU. California Delight made a Sucralose equivalent called Sucralis. It is Star K-P.
Stevia must be marked KP (no known on the market)
Agave Nectar: (a natural sweetener) must be marked:AW, Roundy’s, Sophia and Western Farm brands OK-P
Maple Syrup needs Passover certification: Janeric M/KP, Adirondack Kof KP
Xylitol: Healthy Garden OUP
SUSHI NORI: Mizrach u’Maariv Star K-P
TEAS: Any unflavored, non-herbal regular tea bags are acceptable without special KFP: Green and White teas need to be marked.
Due to a Hames ingredient used in the decaf process, decaf varieties should be used only with supervision: (Salada Caffeine free is Hames)
Exception: Lipton Decaf and Swee-touch-Ne 97% Decaf may be used without an OU-P
Instant Tea: Nestea Instant unflavored only. Regular only. No KP needed. (NOT DECAF)
Herbal Teas: Need to be marked: OU-P: Bigelow, Sweet-Touch-Nee: Herbal and Wissotzky- many varieties.
Tomato Paste and Sauce: Passover supervision required.
Due to flavored varieties of paste and sauce now being produced, the OK laboratories informed us that tomato products must have proper Pesach supervision. Mishpacha, Gefen, Glick’s, Haddar, Lieber’s and Unger’s – all with KFP certification.
Note: Throughout the year, Tomato products should only be used with a known reliable supervision, it has been discovered that certain packers of tomato products were producing tomato with (non-kosher) Romano cheese sauce and then producing the crushed tomatoes, with no cleaning in between! Understandably this is not acceptable.
TUNA: See Fish
Dried Beans: May be used according to custom. Must be checked three times before Pesah.
Also check for insects, especially in black eyed peas.
Frozen: Several years ago, a new lighter cuisine heralded the introduction of frozen pasta and vegetable mixtures. Vegetable companies blanch veggies and pasta blends together, and then use the same equipment for plain vegetables. Some companies purchase processed vegetables from another source and put their own label on the package. Codes provided by the companies proved inaccurate, and the information was confusing.
We highly recommend the use of fresh vegetables, despite the convenience of the frozen.
The most important of all, peas and beans will again be available for the Sephardic Community.
Star S-P: Yerek Brand Peas, Green Beans, Mixed Vegetables, Lima Beans, Cut Corn.
There are several Israeli brands that are also marked Kosher for Passover for Ochlei Kitniyot.
Several companies made other frozen vegetables, including broccoli, cauliflower and spinach, which are properly checked for insects and for Pesach.
Within the Sephardic Community, there are varied customs as to the use of dried beans, chick peas, tehina and corn. Consult your Rabbi for further information. If you are certain that it is your custom, they should be checked to ensure that no grains are mixed in.
Dried Eggplant: These are imported from Turkey, where they are collected from different villages. The importer informed us that the local women scoop them out, hang them to dry, and then tie them in string. In the event that there is a rush to get them dried out, flour is put inside to draw out the moisture! Understandably, we cannot recommend these for Passover. Japanese eggplant is a fine alternative – they are very long and slender, and can be easily cut in half and scooped out.
Pre-washed salad: Some brands use citric acid in the rinse water to balance the ph (to prevent wilting) and are not recommended.
Unlike in previous years, ALL STAR K marked brands may be used only with a Passover mark.
Several Brands from Israel and the US provide insect free lettuce and herbs. Bodek, Pos’tiv and Fresh Express must be used with Passover certification.
Note: we received information about bad batches of California and Mexican grown produce that was infested! Buyer beware! Buy only top quality looking produce and even if it is marked – Iceberg lettuce has become more problematic and must be checked!
All Romaine must be washed and checked for insects!
Small flies are attracted to lettuce, even if it is grown hydroponically. (The ones from Israel state clearly that the produce does not need inspection, but it must be rinsed.)
If you are using the unsupervised lettuce, please contact your Rabbi for direction how to properly check for insects.
Alternatively, The fruit & vegetable inspection guide can be found at www.checkvegetables.com Other websites also contain clips of how to inspect different produce and what the different insects look like. (star-K.org, crcweb.org)
Peeled Vegetables: Garlic cloves: Spice World Star-K (No P) Baby Carrots: Without additives such as: Bugs Bunny, Grimway Farms, Delmonte, Wegmans or Lancaster.
Canned Vegetables: Need supervision: the following companies produce reliably supervised products: California Delight, Glick’s, Gefen, Haddar, Mishpacha, Season and Shoprite, Unger’s: KP only for all! Star S-P for Sepharadim: California Delight baby corn, Whole kernel corn.
VEGGIE WASH: Many brands are Hames, However, Sereli or Fit Brand are acceptable with Plain OU
VINEGARS: Many are made from Hames ingredients and need supervision.
Exception: Acetum and Roland brands of Balsamic Vinegar may be purchased with a kosher mark but no P.
WHIPPED TOPPING: Kinneret certified OU-P. Ungar brand Star-KP.
Whiskeys and Beers and many liqueurs are Hames and may not be consumed on Passover. They must be sold to a non-Jew through the Rabbi before Pesach. See the www.crcweb.org alert section for some important information regarding bourbons and Whiskies that are manufactured at Jewish-owned factories that do not sell their Hames!
WINE: Please note some varieties of Manischewitz wine are not kosher for Passover. Check all wines- Be certain that all are certified Kosher for Passover.
Two other issues with wine are:
Non Mevushal Wines
Although preferable to use for the four cups, care must be taken that opened bottles are not touched by non-Jews. In a place that this is difficult, it may be preferable to use Yayin Mevushal, literally cooked wine. Consult your Rabbi.
Fruit Wines:Wine varieties that are made from other fruits, such as peaches, may have a question if the Beracha is Hagefen, making them unacceptable for the Seder. Usually, the proper blessing will be stated on the back of the bottle.
ORAL HYGYEINE: Tooth paste: Aim, Aqua Fresh, Colgate, Crest (cool Mint, Extra Whitening, Multicare, Kids Sparkle,) Gleem, Mentatdent, Oragel, Pepsodent, Toms’s of Maine. Ultrabrite. Mouth Wash: Colgate, Scope, Listerine (Cool Mint, Listermint, Total Care Zero), Tom’s of Maine.
OTC (OVER THE COUNTER): Abdominal Discomfort: Alka- Selzer original; Di-Gel; Dramamine Original; Gax-X; Immodium; Kaopectate liquid (Cherry, vanilla & Max Peppermint); Miralax Powder; Metamucil powder; Philllips Milk of Magnesia Original Liquid; Pepcid AC; Pepto Bismal Liquid, Extra Strength Mint & Assorted fruit; Bicarbonate of Soda; Tums – Regular -assorted fruit and mint; Tums Extra strength Assorted Berries, Fruit, Tropical fruit; Tums Ultra Assorted Berries , Fruit, Tropical Fruit & Peppermint.
ALLERGY: Allegra regular tablets, Allegra D-12 hr, Allegra Children’s 12 hr. Suspension, Claritin (including children’s grape chewable), Claritin D, Children’s Allergy Syrup, Chewable Grape Tablets Singular-4mg Oral granules, 10 mg Tablets, 4mg & 5mg Chewable tablets.
BABY : Pedialyte, Pedia-Sure, Tempra: Drops and Tablets, Tylenol: Suspension Cherry, Infant drops Cherry & Grape.
COLD MEDICATION: Childrens’s cold Tylenol, Excedrin Sinus, Vicks Nyquil and Dayquil cold/flu, Vicks 44, Chapstick Cold sore Therapy.
PAIN RELIEVERS: Advil Caplets and Tablets (last ing. White wax), Children’s Suspension and infant drops, Aleve Tablets & Caplets, Bayer Aspirin tabs, PM caplets, low dose chewable, Excedrin (plain, migraine, sinus) Motrin Children’s Suspension berry Infant drops berry, Tyenol Adult: Reg tablets, xtra Strength caplets, Tylenol- Children’s suspension cherry Tylenol chewable: Bubble gum and grape flavored.
VITAMINS: Frieda brand are chametz free.
• From the cRc: Some bourbon companies are owned by Jews who do not sell their chametz;
• Flavored Cigars may be problematic as the Alcohol in the Flavoring may be Hames.
• There had been a concern regarding the dried beans for Passover. We have verified that the dried beans from companies such as Goya, Vittaroz or Clics that are packed in 1-lb bags are pure and do not come in contact with questionable ingredients. There are some varieties such as red lentils, that are sold in the supermarket that are polished with vegetable oil, making them a year-round kashrut question. They say vegetable oil in the ingredients and should not be used. Some families do not have the custom of eating dried beans, yet eat the same varieties in fresh or frozen. For those using the dry, check three times before Pesach. • Unauthorized: Terra DeLyssa infused olive oils bear an unauthorized Star K-P These oils are being sold in stores (including Target) and on line. They should not be used.
Getting ready for Pesach
A brief guide for the preparation of the kitchen for Pesach, based on excerpts from Gateway to Halacha by Rabbi Eliezer Toledano and Rabbi Shmuel Choueka. Please consult your rabbi for further guidance and instruction.
Just as it is forbidden to eat Hames on Pesah, it is forbidden to cook with utensils which have been used for cooking Hames, since the cooking process transfers the Hames status to the utensils. Of course, the simplest thing to do is to have a set of Pesah utensils which were never used with Hames. However, where this is not possible, certain types of utensils may be rendered usable for Pesah within the following guidelines.
Koshering the kitchen
Ovens should be cleaned thoroughly so that no tangible Hames remains on it’s floors, walls or the oven door. Preferably wait 24 hours and set the oven for its highest temperature and burn for one hour. If you have self-clean, run full cycle.
Stove top – clean very well, giving special attention to burner wells and edges. Wait 24 hours without using prior to koshering. Burners, grates and the area between may be koshered in two ways. #1 by Hagalah – pour boiling water over them: or #2 by means of Libun, whereby the stove top area are covered by a blech (metal covering) or a sheet of heavy aluminum foil (covering the entire area) and then the burners are turned on for 15 minutes. The second method may discolor the stove top or break it, if it is glass.
Microwave – clean thoroughly, and then place a vessel of water in the oven. The microwave is operated until the oven is filled with steam.
Sink- Clean thoroughly, especially around the drain and faucet. Do not use for hot Hames for 24 hours. Boil water on the stove and pour over all the parts of the sink. Some recommend using a rack.
Counters and table tops- clean thoroughly, taking extra care in cracks and crevices. These areas may then be koshered by Hagalah – pouring boiling water over all areas of the counter top or table. Alternatively, they may simply be covered.
Dishwasher- clean away any tangible Hames and run through one cycle empty. Some recommend replacing the racks for Pesah.
High chairs should be cleaned very carefully and then either pour boiling water over food tray to kosher or covered.
Coffee makers and urns should be koshered by filling with water and turning on so that the water boils over. (Care should be taken to clean the exterior well, beforehand.)
Mixers, food processors and kitchen aids which were used to mix dough, should be cleaned well and put away with the rest of the Hames utensils.
Refrigerators should be cleaned thoroughly, taking extra care to remove crumbs in the cracks and crevices.
Types of Utensils
1. Earthenware utensils which were used with Hames at high temperatures cannot be koshered at all. These include porcelain, enamel, stoneware, corning ware and china. These should all be washed from any visible Hames and should be put into a sealed closet until after Pesah.
2. Glass utensils need only be washed both inside and outside, and then they may be used for Pesah.
3. Utensils made of wood, stone, metal, natural rubber or plastic, which are used in or with water may be made usable for Pesah by hagalah (immersion in boiling water) in a manner described below. Metal utensils which were used directly on the fire, without water in them, require Libun (koshering by fire) as will be described later, to render them usable on Pesah.
All utensils must be cleaned thoroughly as koshering removes the taste of Hames, not pieces of food. Items that are cracked, rusted or difficult to clean should be put away for the holiday. Handles should be removed, and extra care should be taken to scrub the edges where food may accumulate.
Utensils are koshered in the manner in which they are used. Thus, the same level of heat must then be used to accomplish the koshering. There are 4 levels:
1.Al Ha’esh or Libun-Direct flame or heat. For utensils that come in direct contact with Hames over an open flame. Utensils are either put in the self-clean cycle of the oven or are ‘torched’ by a blowtorch (not for everyone to attempt).
2. Kli Rishon- Hagalah -A pot of hot liquids on the fire- Primary vessel: For pots used for cooking Hames with
water. After proper cleaning (see above) + 24 hours waiting, utensils may be immersed in a large, clean pot which was not used for 24 hours that water has been brought to a full, rolling boil. Either completely cover the utensil for several seconds, or if not possible, do it in stages, so that the entire utensil passes through the boiling water. Rinse with cold water. When multiple utensils are to be koshered, allow the water to return to full bubbling boil between items.
If the pot will not fit inside another pot, the pot itself should be filled to the top and allowed to boil. Meanwhile heat a stone or large piece of metal until it is heated, and place in the boiling pot, causing the water to overflow, thus koshering the rim. Empty and rinse with cold water.
3. Iyrui Kli Rishon- A flow of hot liquids from the primary vessel. Utensils which have boiling hot liquid poured into them may be koshered by a flow of boiling water. (i.e. serving trays that the food is poured into them)
4. Kli Sheni- a vessel containing hot liquids poured from a primary vessel. Spoons and forks which are used in a secondary vessel, such as for serving may be koshered this way.
Note: a utensil which requires a lower level of heat to be koshered may surely be koshered at a more intense heat level.
In summary, we must all review the laws of koshering our kitchens in order to make sure that we do things properly. The best thing is to attend a class given by your Rabbi to obtain a full explanation. This short review is by no means a full detailed guide. Many items may not be included. When in doubt, ask.
May we all merit to observe the laws of Pesah properly!
List of Kitniyot:
The following are considered Kitniyot or treated as Kitniyot according to many opinions:
Anise, Ascorbic Acid (May be Hames), Aspartame (Nutrasweet), Beans, Black Eyed Peas, Buckwheat, Calcium Ascorbate, Canola Oil, Caraway, Citric Acid (May be Hames), Chickpeas, Confectioners’ sugar with corn starch, Coriander, Corn, Corn Syrup, Cumin, Dextrose, Fennel, Fenugreek, Flax Seeds, Hemp, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Oil, Kasha, Kimmel, Lecithin, Lentils, Licorice, Lucerne, Lupine, Maltodextrins (Hames or Kitnios derived), Millet, MSG, Mustard, Peanuts, Polysorbates (May be Hames), Popcorn, Poppy Seeds, Rice (Vitamins added may be Hames), Sesame Seeds, Snow Peas, Sodium Citrate (May be Hames), Sodium Erythorbate (May be Hames), Sorbitol (Could be Hames if outside the U.S.), Soy Oil, Corn Oil, Soy, String Beans, Sunflower Seeds, Tofu (from soy), Vitamin C (may be Hames), Wild Rice, Xanthan gum (May be Hames). NOTE: Flax seed and Hemp seed are not Kitniyot and can be used after checking for other grains
Problematical Toiletries (Hames) – ingredients to look out for:
Rabbi Bess lists the following possible issues:
This Sephardic Passover List is applicable for 2018 only Page 12
Amino Peptide Complex, Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Avena Sativa Flour, Avena Sativa Kernel Protein, Barley Extract, Beta Glucan, Disodium Wheatgermido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate, Hordeum Vulgare Extract, Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein PyPropyl Silanetriol, Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Hydroxypropyl trimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Oat Beta Glucan, Oat Extract, Oat Flour, Phyto sphingosine Extract, Prolamin, Sodium Lauroyl Oat Amino Acids, Stearyl dimonium hydrosypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Triticum Vulgare, Triticum Vulgare Flour Lipids, Triticum Vulgare Germ Extract, Triticum Vulgare Germ Oil, Wheat Amino Acids, Wheat Bran Extract, Wheat Germ Extract, Wheat Germ Glycerides, Wheat Germ anidopro pyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Wheat Germ Oil, Wheat Protein, Wheat Sphingolipids
Jewish Features3 weeks ago
Nobel Laureate Robert Aumann Gives Voice to His Lifelong Love Affair with Shabbat
New York City News1 week ago
Crown Acquisitions Founder Stanley Chera Introduces President Trump at Veteran’s Day Parade in NYC
New York City News3 weeks ago
Neighborhood Under Siege!!!
International latest news2 weeks ago
NY Urologist David Samadi at Center of $12.3M Fraudulent Medicare Claims Case with Lenox Hill Hospital
New York City News2 weeks ago
Haley, Kissinger, Kraft, and Tisch Join Ronald Lauder for WJC Gala at Pierre
New York City News4 days ago
NYAG Letitia James Targets B&H Photo Over Alleged $7.3M Tax Evasion
New York City News3 weeks ago
Hasidic Women’s Ambulance Corp. Gets Strong Pushback from Male Hatzalah Members
New York City News1 week ago
400 Orthodox Jewish Leaders Meet With President Trump at NYC Hotel